NORCET Pattern, Notice Workflow and Source Tracker
This chapter sets out the NORCET pattern as reported for the NORCET-11 (2026) cycle, the eligibility and age rules, and a method for checking every time-sensitive fact against the official notice. It is the only chapter that states the pattern, eligibility, age and marking as figures, and later chapters refer back to it. Where sources disagree, the chapter says so instead of choosing one figure.
KarmSakha preparation topics covered
- Stage I and Stage II structure as reported for the NORCET-11 (2026) cycle
- The one-third negative-marking rule and how unattempted items are treated
- Eligibility routes: B.Sc, Post-Basic B.Sc and GNM, with Nurse and Midwife registration
- Age limits, the reference date and category relaxations
- The recruitment notice workflow as a checklist for every cycle
- The source tracker: what 'verified' means in this book
- Scope of this starter and the clinical-use limit
What NORCET Is and Why the Notice Controls Every Fact
NORCET stands for Nursing Officer Recruitment Common Eligibility Test. As reported, AIIMS New Delhi runs it to fill Group B Nursing Officer posts at AIIMS New Delhi and other participating institutes, and the official notice is published through the examination portal at aiimsexams.ac.in. Every figure in this chapter belongs to the NORCET-11 (2026) cycle, whose notification was reported on 24 July 2026. Each cycle is numbered and dated, so a figure from one cycle is not automatically valid for the next.
The NORCET-11 notice itself could not be read during verification. The notices list on the portal is client-rendered and showed 'No Notices Found' in the verification environment, so the NORCET-11 figures here come from secondary summaries and from the portal's own description. Those summaries disagree on several points, including the general age ceiling, whether Stage I marks count toward the final rank, and the registration end date. Where they disagree, this chapter says so or leaves the figure out, and the notice decides.
A NORCET-10 (2026) summary describes the same two-stage structure, which suggests the pattern is fairly stable from one cycle to the next. That stability is a reason to learn the pattern, not a guarantee about the next notice. This book therefore treats the pattern as a reference, not as a timetable: any date, count or rule that a candidate plans around must be taken from the notice of the cycle they are applying to. Chapter 8 applies the reported timing to exam-day decisions, and those decisions need the same check.
Stage I: The 100-Question Screening Round
Stage I is 100 MCQs to be answered in 90 minutes. Of the 100, 80 are nursing items and 20 are general knowledge and aptitude items, a part that chapters 6 and 7 cover between them. The paper is split into five sections of 20 items, each with a reported limit of 18 minutes, so the section limits are the first thing a candidate should plan around. Careers360's syllabus page calls the prelims qualifying in nature, and Nprep says candidates must qualify this round to become eligible for the next stage.
Sources conflict on whether Stage I marks count toward the final selection, and this chapter does not settle that. The Careers360 report published with the notification says applicants are selected on the basis of performance in both exams, and a PW NORCET-11 FAQ says performance in both stages determines final selection. A PW selection-process guide says the opposite: Stage I marks are not used to prepare the final merit or rank, and they serve only as a tie-breaker. Nprep describes Stage II as the round with the most important role in the merit list. No source reviewed states the weighting, so this book does not give a merit rule as fact. Until the notice settles it, treat each Stage I mark as possibly counting.
| Feature | Stage I | Stage II |
|---|---|---|
| Items | 100 MCQs | 160 MCQs |
| Time | 90 minutes | 180 minutes |
| Structure | Five sections of 20 items, 18 minutes each | Four sections of 40 items |
| Subject mix | 80 nursing, 20 general knowledge and aptitude | Nursing subjects only |
| Marks | 100 marks as reported (Careers360 syllabus page) | 160 marks, one per correct answer |
| Role in selection | Qualifying screen; sources disagree on whether its marks count | Reported as the main merit round |
Stage II: The 160-Question Clinical Round
Stage II is 160 MCQs carrying 160 marks, to be answered in 180 minutes, in four sections of 40 items. The PW NORCET-11 page and Nprep's pattern page agree on the item count and the duration. Nprep describes the paper as clinical and application-oriented, with questions that test how a candidate applies nursing concepts in patient-care situations. The PW NORCET-11 page lists the Stage II item types as MCQs, image- or video-based questions and priority-based questions, and says the structure is expected to follow NORCET-10, so it may change. Chapter 8 teaches a reading method for case and priority items rather than a list of formats.
The Stage II time budget is tighter per item. Dividing 180 minutes by 160 items gives 67.5 seconds per item, against 54 seconds in Stage I, where 90 minutes covers 100 items. A case has a stem with several clinical details, so reading time has to come out of those 67.5 seconds. A case that takes three minutes uses almost three items' worth of average time, which is why the reading method in chapter 8 matters. Practise on timed sets rather than untimed ones, because the average hides the uneven pace that a case-based paper demands.
Marking Scheme: Plus One, Minus One-Third, Zero
The reported scheme gives +1 for each correct answer and minus one-third for each wrong answer. The Stage II penalty is stated explicitly on the PW NORCET-11 page and on the Careers360 syllabus page. For Stage I the support is narrower. Nprep's pattern page states the one-third deduction for incorrect answers in Stage I and says that unattempted questions carry no deduction. The Careers360 overview table lists one-third without naming a stage, and the PW page gives no Stage I penalty. This book applies the penalty to both stages as a working assumption, and the notice must confirm it.
The penalty is one-third of a mark, not one mark. A wrong answer costs a third of what a right answer earns, so three wrong answers cancel exactly one right answer. A blank costs nothing under this scheme, so leaving an item blank and answering it wrongly are not equivalent outcomes. Whether a guess is worth making depends on how many options can be eliminated. A candidate who guesses blindly across four options has an expected value of zero under this penalty, and chapter 8 proves that step by step.
| Response | Mark under the reported scheme |
|---|---|
| Correct | +1 |
| Wrong | −1/3 (about −0.33) |
| Unattempted | 0, with no deduction |
Eligibility: Qualifications, Registration and Experience
The degree routes and the GNM route are alternatives. The eligibility sections of the summaries attach no experience condition to the degree routes. One PW page, though, says degree-route candidates can apply subject to the applicable conditions. That wording leaves open whether any experience condition reaches them, and the notice must settle it. The GNM route needs two years of experience at a hospital with at least 50 beds, and the PW eligibility page says that experience must be acquired after obtaining the qualification. Experience at a smaller hospital does not count toward the two years, and experience gained before the diploma does not count either. Registration as a Nurse and Midwife applies on every route.
Two points stay open. The first is M.Sc Nursing. One NORCET-11 page lists M.Sc candidates as eligible, the PW eligibility page does not mention them, and a NORCET-10 summary omits them, so this book does not state M.Sc eligibility as fact. The second is the GNM diploma itself. Nursing-education rules for the GNM have been changing for several years, so a GNM candidate should confirm that the diploma is still recognised for registration before relying on this route. Chapter 2 explains how the councils work.
| Route | Qualification as reported | Extra condition as reported |
|---|---|---|
| Degree | B.Sc (Hons.) Nursing, B.Sc Nursing or Post-Basic B.Sc Nursing from an institute recognised by the Indian Nursing Council or a State Nursing Council | None in the eligibility sections checked (see the note above) |
| GNM | General Nursing and Midwifery (GNM) diploma | Two years at a hospital of at least 50 beds, acquired after qualifying |
| All routes | Registration as a Nurse and Midwife with a State Nursing Council or the Indian Nursing Council | Registration is required |
| M.Sc Nursing | Listed as eligible on one NORCET-11 page; not stated on the PW eligibility page | Not printed in this book |
Age Limits, Relaxations and the Cut-Off Date
The minimum age is 18 in every source checked. The general upper limit is the figure the sources disagree on. The PW eligibility page and Nprep's NORCET-11 overview give 30 years, and Nprep's NORCET-10 summary gives 30 measured on the last date of application. The PW NORCET-11 page gives 18 to 35 years 'as on the cutoff date'. Because the sources disagree, and one publisher's two pages differ, this book prints no single ceiling. The notice settles the figure, and a candidate should record the page on which it appears.
